“What do you want to be when you grow up?”

imag2416-2

In the same way my answers changed when people would ask  “What do you want to be when you grow up?” throughout my developmental years, the track of my career life has veered in completely different directions. Whilst studying at university, I worked in retail. I had a stint in research through completing my honours thesis. I have worked in marketing, which within itself encompassed a few different roles ranging from graphic designer to event manager. I have volunteered within various charitable organisations, and have worked in the veterinary field.

Throughout these different roles, I learned more than I had expected to. These positions have taught me about myself, about people, about the corporate world, and about life. My career journey has made me elated, excited, hopeful, yet at times frustrated and even angry. It has taught me the importance of work/life balance. My career journey has forced me to define my values and recognise the way I would like to lead my life. I have overcome many obstacles, gone through difficult life circumstances and big changes. I am now on the discovery journey in order to determine what my next step will be. Through the “career” category of my blog, I hope to help others through my personal experiences and  resulting perspectives.

Leave a Reply

